Badgers Commit Brad Davison: Quarterback of the Court

Recendavisont Badgers commit Brad Davison has been trying to gain the attention of college coaches for a long time. He recalls shooting baskets during half time and timeouts of his older sisters AAU tournaments trying to impress college coaches. Only a few years later, Davison found himself with 18 scholarship offers from major programs across the country, and after taking a week-long recruiting trip across the country, Davison ultimately decided upon the Badgers. A decision that was established in his relationship with Badgers head coach Greg Gard and assistant coach Joe Krabbenhoft.

“My relationship with the coaching staff was huge for me! I have known Coach Gard and Krabbenhoft since before my freshman year. It felt like the perfect fit,” said Davison.

The ‘perfect fit’ is also for the Badgers basketball program as Davison exudes everything that being a Badger means; his development is rooted in his leadership and toughness which has led him to becoming one of the best floor generals in the country on both sides of the court.

“I got a lot of leadership and toughness from playing football, I always say that if you can lead ten guys in a huddle, it makes it a lot easier to lead four guys on the court,” said Davison, “my parents helped my leadership at a young age, they challenged me to be a leader with my friends so that we could be a successful team in the future.”

Davison will soon begin his senior year at Maple Grove High School in Minnesota, where he has set some high goals for himself in the upcoming year.

“My biggest goals for my senior year are maintaining a 4.0 GPA and to help lead my football and basketball team to state championships.”

Davison is the quarterback of his high school football team and Badgers head coach Greg Gard has mentioned that he wants Brad to be the ‘quarterback’ of his basketball team.

“(Being known as the quarterback) means everything! It means Coach Gard wants me to be the leader of the team and be an extension of him on the floor. Being a quarterback comes with a lot of responsibility and it is something I will have to earn.”

It comes to no surprise that Davison recognizes quarterbacks Russell Wilson and Tim Tebow as two of the best leaders in all of sports.

“I’m drawn to the passion that they have for their sport and their teammates. That is how I want to lead a team,” said Davison in reference to the former Badgers quarterback Wilson and former Heisman trophy winner Tim Tebow.

Over the past few months Davison has become one of the fastest rising prospects in the country after his summer with the Howard Pulley Panthers, one of the top AAU teams in the country. Brad averaged 17 points per game on 51.2% shooting from the floor including a .435 mark from behind the arc; while leading the Panthers to a 51-6 record. In the process, Brad developed his game a lot and feels comfortable scoring and defending at both guard positions.

With his verbal commitment, Brad will be joining a recruiting class that already includes four-star Nathan Reuvers (Lakeville, Minn.) and four-star Kobe King (Lacrosse, Wisc.). With one of the best recruiting classes in the country already established, Davison recognizes the opportunity to maintain the winning tradition in Madison.

“When I think of Badger basketball I think of a very successful program that does things the right way. Badgers basketball has always been something I have wanted to be a part of,” said Davison.

Greg Gard is getting a special player but an even better person in Brad Davison. Davison has used his faith, family, and friends to get to where he is today. He’s thankful for the support and sacrifices those closest to him have made along the way and he is excited about the future support he will receive from Badgers fans.

“Badger fans can expect me to give 100% every day and do whatever it takes to bring a National Championship to Madison. Not only do I want to have a positive impact on the Basketball program, but on the University as a whole,” said Davison who plans to major in business at Wisconsin. “I believe that God has a plan for me and I am really looking forward to representing the University of Wisconsin!”

“Hey Brad…that feeling is mutual, future Quarterback of the Court!”

Leave a Reply

